Visit to the PPL Center in Allentown, PA

Downtown Allentown, PA is currently undergoing major redevelopment and the lynchpin of the redevelopment of downtown is the brand new PPL Center, a sports arena/event center which is now home to Lehigh Valley Phantoms, the Philadelphia Flyers minor league hockey team. However, a lot more than just hockey will take place at the PPL Center, everything from concerts to WWE to rodeos and more. I think this venue will provide a huge boost to the economy of downtown Allentown and it finally gives all the people in the Lehigh Valley a first rate events center.

The Front Gate of the PPL Center
The Front Gate of the PPL Center

I attended the Phantoms opening game vs the Albany Devils ( the NJ Devils minor league team) last Saturday night and I must say that I was very impressed by the building. It looked nice from the outside, but the inside exceeded my expectations. The building can hold anywhere from 8,500 to 10,500 people, depending on seating configuration for the event. For hockey the capacity is 8,500, for concerts the capacity is about 10,500. I would guess that the capacity for a basketball game is over 9,000. The sight lines are very good and pretty much anywhere you sit you will have a good view of the action on the rink or court.

The PPL Center at the corner of 7th and Hamilton

The Inside of the PPL Center
The Inside of the PPL Center
Inside the PPL Center
The Concourse at the PPL Center

4 thoughts on “Visit to the PPL Center in Allentown, PA

  1. Hello George, I’m wondering if I could ask permission to use the photo of the building front for a client Sika, they laid the flooring in the Center and we are producing a simple case study in print and they have no exterior shots…came across your blog in a google search.
    cheers
    Let me know,
    Dave Seppala
    Union Pearl Advertising

  2. I am a teacher at Nitschmann Middle School and I working on a project with students for the What’s So Cool About Manufacturing video contest. Our assignment was to work with Lutron Electronics whos products are used in the PPL Center. I was wondering if I may use one four-second clip of the PPL Center lit up at night. Please let me know if this will be acceptable and what you would like the citation to read. Thanks for your time.

    1. Brian, I just saw your comment this morning. Sure, you can use any of my pictures of the PPL Center on this blog post.

Leave a comment